If you have hired a new employee this month or intend to do so make sure you complete the new “Affirmation of Legal Work Status” form within 20 calendar days of hire. Colorado’s employment verification law has been in effect for over seven years and this new form is not significantly different from the prior form. All public and private employers are required to complete the form. Completion of the federal I-9 form is not sufficient to meet Colorado’s requirement.
The Colorado Department of Labor conducts random audits or upon complaint and can fine employers $5000 for a first offense and up to $25000 for subsequent offenses. You can click here for a downloadable copy of the form.